People Moves

Singapore Central Bank Announces Board Re-appointments

Vanessa Doctor Asia Correspondent 22 May 2013

Singapore Central Bank Announces Board Re-appointments

The Monetary Authority of Singapore has announced a number of re-appointments to its board of directors.

Tharman Shanmugaratnam retains the position of chairman of the board from 21 May 2013 until 31 May 2015. Ravi Menon stays both as managing director of MAS and member of the MAS board of directors for a further two-year term, starting 1 June 2013.

Heng Swee Keat and Lawrence Wong Shyun Tsai have been re-appointed as minister for education and acting minister for culture, community and youth and senior minister of state (communications and information), respectively, also with effect from 1 June with a two-year term.

The other members of the board are Lim Hng Kiang, deputy chairman and minister for trade and industry, Lim Chee Onn, senior international advisor, Peter Ong Boon Kwee, permanent secretary, Tan Chorh Chuan, president, and Quek See Tiat, chairman, Building and Construction Authority.

As the central bank, the Monetary Authority of Singapore is tasked to ensure the city-state's position as a regional and international financial centre.

Register for WealthBriefing today

Gain access to regular and exclusive research on the global wealth management sector along with the opportunity to attend industry events such as exclusive invites to Breakfast Briefings and Summits in the major wealth management centres and industry leading awards programmes