People Moves

ABN AMRO Nominates New CFO, Successor To Chief Risk Officer

Tom Burroughes Group Editor London 16 May 2017

ABN AMRO Nominates New CFO, Successor To Chief Risk Officer

The European bank announces its picks for a new CFO and successor to its chief risk officer.

ABN AMRO, the Netherlands-headquartered bank, has nominated a new chief financial officer and future successor to its chief risk officer.

The bank said it wants to appoint Clifford Abrahams as member of the executive board and chief financial officer, effective from 1 September this year. That nomination must be approved by the European Central Bank and subject to advice from the bank's employee council, it said in a statement.

Abrahams is a member of the managing board and the group chief financial officer of Delta Lloyd. Abrahams joined Delta Lloyd in January 2016. In 2005, Abrahams was appointed as chief M&A officer at Aviva. Prior to joining Aviva, Abrahams was employed for 12 years at Morgan Stanley, where he became managing director for financial institutions in 2002.

ABN AMRO said it also intends to appoint Tanja Cuppen as member of the executive board from 1 October. Following a hand-over period with Wietze Reehoorn, the supervisory board intends to appoint Cuppen as the new chief risk officer, effective 1 November. Wietze Reehoorn has agreed to resign from the board on that date in November. He will hand over his remaining tasks and activities effective 31 December 2017.

Cuppen's nomination is also subject to various approvals. She is currently chief risk officer for North America at Rabobank North America, based in New York. Previously, she served as chief financial and risk officer at Rabobank International. Cuppen joined Rabobank in 1994.


Register for WealthBriefing today

Gain access to regular and exclusive research on the global wealth management sector along with the opportunity to attend industry events such as exclusive invites to Breakfast Briefings and Summits in the major wealth management centres and industry leading awards programmes